Reviews from Robert Hansen (25)


  • Marina Review for Kingfisher Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Dec 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Kingfisher Bay Marina is a very well-run facility in very strategic location! The office and service staff are excellent and very helpful! The docks, pedestals, trash containers and grounds are clean and in very good condition. The facilities, bathroom and showers are very clean and well maintained. The new fuel dock and store are superb!

    There are both covered and non-covered docks, a great upper-level outdoor covered meeting area and nearby very nice outdoor pool area with tables and chairs. There are two nice laundry facilities available, one at the docks and the other at the fuel dock store location.

    A good lender vehicle is available. Internet Wi-Fi access was adequate.

    I look forward to staying at Kingfisher Bay Marina again!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Moorings of Carrabelle

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Dec 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The Moorings of Carrabelle is a nice facility in a strategic location. The docks and pedestals are clean and in good condition. The facilities, bathrooms and showers are adequately maintained, in so-so condition, and many blocks from the dock we were at. There is a nice meeting room for groups. A free breakfast was available. If we bought 100 gallons of fuel or more, dockage was $1 per ft. vs $1.50.

    Carrabelle is a small town. There a two decent dining spots within .4 miles, a nice grocery store and hardware store within .25 miles.

    I would not hesitate to stay at the Moorings of Carrabelle again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bluewater Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Dec 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The Bluewater Bay Marina is a well run facility in a beautiful setting with a great vibe! The docks and pedestals are clean and in good condition. The office staff were good and helpful. The onsite restaurant and bar have good food and were a lot of fun! The facilities, bathroom and showers are clean and well maintained. Internet access was adequate. There is a lender vehicle and was glad to be able to use it. The vent fans and AC don't work.

    I look forward to going back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Wharf Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Dec 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    The Wharf Marina is a very well run facility! The docks and pedestals are clean and in good condition.The office staff were excellent and very helpful. The facilities, bathroom and showers are very clean and well maintained.

    There are many dining places, shopping and a dentist nearby. There is a lot to do within .25 miles.

    There isn't a lender vehicle, but the Wharf Marina deserves 5 stars!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Clearwater Municipal Marinas (Clearwater Harbor Marina)

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Dec 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 1

    We stay at Clearwater Harbor Marina the last week of November 2021. WiFi service did not work. We were on the outside of the long dock and consistently getting waked by boats in the no wake zone. The bathrooms are too far away. The door security app you must install on a smartphone worked very poorly. There is a large construction project in progress on the adjacent property.

    I will not go back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Mel's Illinois RiverDock Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Mel's Illinois RiverDock and Restaurant have a good vibe, great homemade meals and desserts.

    Mel's is strategically located in Hardin, IL, a small town of 860 residents. We felt very comfortable in Hardin!

    There are two floating docks attached to the shore that are 250' long. They are solid.

    There is no power but we had a great experience at both the dock and restaurant!

    The dock cost was $25 and along with the great home cooked meals and desserts well worth the stay!

    I'll be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Alton Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The Alton Marina is a very well run facility. The marina staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    The grounds, docks, pool, pavilion and facilities are clean and in very good condition!

    WiFi was adequate.

    There are several decent dining establishments are within 3 to 7 blocks of the marina.

    Dock and fuel prices are very competitive.

    I'll be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Illinois Valley Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The Illinois Valley Yacht Club is a very well run facility with excellent accommodating staff! Ron the Harbormaster kept me up to date regarding the lower water level and our 4' 6" draft. First class are the words!

    The grounds, docks, dock pedestals and facilities are very clean and in very good condition.

    The bar is beautiful and dining and was very good and both have a great view and excellent service!

    WiFi was adequate.

    We will be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Heritage Harbor Ottawa

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    It doesn't get any better than Heritage Harbor!

    Heritage Harbor is the best run marina we have been in to date. From entering the harbor to docking and registering, the marina staff were very accommodating!

    For Loopers, the nightly briefing with Harbormaster Jeremy is well worth the time! We attended two nights in a row to fine tune our notes from the first night. The info is spot on and very helpful from Heritage Harbor to Paducaha, KY!

    The grounds, docks, pool, restaurant, very well stocked store and bathrooms are clean and in excellent condition.

    WiFi was adequate and for only $5 more for your stay you can upgrade to faster WiFi which I did. It was well worth it for downloading!

    I'll be back and look forward to a longer stay!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Heritage Harbor Ottawa

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    We're looking forward to our next stay at Heritage Harbor Marina!

    All facilities, docks & pedestals, store, restaurant, tiki bar, pool, bathrooms and showers are in great well kept condition!

    They offer higher speed internet for only $5 for your entire stay otherwise a lower speed service is available.

    The Harbor Master provides a thorough nightly Looper briefing covering from Heritage to Paducah for those on the Great Loop.

    A lender vehicle is available.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hammond Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    Hammond Marina docks and walkways are in good condition.

    The dock pedestals are not clean or being maintained properly.

    The bathrooms were disgusting and the secure bathrooms were out of order.

    Diesel fuel was $3.09 Labor Day weekend. The fuel dock last boat fuel time of 4:15 on week days should be noted. I was told on radio if I arrived at 4:15 that I would not be fueled. I arrived at 4:05 to be safe.

    WiFi is adequate.

    The marina is secure and the Lakefront is very nice.

    The adjacent casino has dining available.

    Hammond is an excellent Marina and going down the Cal Sag which is only 3 miles away.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Waukegan Harbor & Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Sep 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Waukegan Harbor Marina facilities, showers, bathrooms and grounds are well kept, clean and in nice condition.

    Some of the North harbor has damaged docks as a result of Lake Michigan's high water.

    The South harbor docks are in good condition and dock pedestals are clean.

    The WiFi is so-so, especially during busy times.

    The marina security is good.

    We like the Waukegan waterfront area and parks are find them enjoyable.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Port Washington Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Port Washington Marina is a very well run facility.

    Upon calling the marina 10 minutes out they offered to help. Marina staff were very accommodating.

    The grounds, docks and facilities are clean and in very good condition.

    WiFi was adequate.

    Many decent dining and retail establishments are within 1 to 2 blocks of the marina.

    This is the third time I've stayed at Port Washington Marina in the last two years a I'll be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ludington Municipal Marina/Harbor View Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    Ludington Municipal Marina was a disappointment.

    First, I called 20,minutes ahead to get dock information. Upon arrival no Marina staff was there and a nearby boater helped us at the dock.

    Second, the 50 amp power didn't work from our power pedestal. It did on the pedestal across the dock. I later found out this is a recurring problem on the dock.

    Third, I went to pay for dockage at at the brick building in the front adjacent to the marina to the parking lot. A Marina patron let me know the "office" is at the end of the fuel dock, 5 slips away from my dock. I walked back to the "office" and saw 3 of 4 high school age boys charging and texting on their phones. Not one of them came out to assist us as we entered the harbor.

    The marina docks and grounds are clean and in very nice condition.

    The WiFi service was satisfactory.

    We didn't use the bathrooms as they're far away from the outer docks.

    The Ludington waterfront sidewalks and parks are very nice.

    The business district was about 5 blocks from the west side of the marina. It was disappointing as it lacks places to dine and there are few good stores in what appears to be a business district.

    Upon departing in the morning, I received a call from a marina person stating I didn't pay. I informed her I did. She said she didn't see the paperwork.

    If you need a dock for the night, this marina will do. If you're looking for more, there are much better marinas and cities north and south of Ludington.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ludington Municipal Marina/Harbor View Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 19, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    Ludington Municipal Marina was a disappointment.

    First, I called 20,minutes ahead to get dock information. Upon arrival no Marina staff was there and a nearby boater helped us at the dock.

    Second, the 50 amp power didn't work from our power pedestal. It did on the pedestal across the dock. I later found out this is a recurring problem.

    Third, I went to pay for dockage at at the brick building in the front adjacent to the marina to the parking lot. A Marina patron let me know the "office" is at the end of the fuel dock, 5 slips away from my dock. I walked back to the "office" and saw 3 of 4 high school age boys charging and texting on their phones. Not one of them came out to assist us as we entered the harbor.

    The marina docks and grounds are clean and in very nice condition.

    The WiFi service was satisfactory.

    We didn't use the bathrooms as they're far away from the outer docks.

    The Ludington waterfront sidewalks and parks are very nice.

    The business district was about 5 blocks from the west side of the marina. It was disappointing as it lacks places to dine and there are few quality shopping opportunities.

    Upon departing in the morning, I received a call from a marina person stating I didn't pay. I informed her I did. She said she didn't see the paperwork.

    If you need a dock for the night, this marina will do. If you're looking for more, there are much better marinas and cities north and south of Ludington.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Frankfort Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 18, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Frankfort Municipal Marina has a very friendly and accommodating staff!

    Accessing dockage is easy.

    The grounds,facilities, power pedestals and docks are clean.
    Private heated shower rooms are a plus.

    The main street with numerous shops and restaurants is a close walk.

    We would most definitely would come back here again!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Mackinaw City Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    This stay an Mackinaw City Marina was perplexing. There was no staff available on a Sunday at 5:00 PM on a high wind, 20+ knots day. The dock assignment was incorrectly described. I was told the dock was the first slip on the backside of the fuel dock. It was not. Upon seeing a boat in the slip described to me on the phone and the high winds, I immediately sought to find an open dock.

    We ended up docking into the wind on the long dock with the help of fellow boaters.

    We HHC stayed there several times over the last few years. The facilities and docks are clean and in good condition.

    WiFi was adequate once I received the password from a fellow boater.
    The access to dining and shopping is excellent.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Round Pond-Charlevoix

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen, Soulmate , on Aug 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    2
    Shore Access:
    2
    Cell Service:
    5

    The Round Pond anchorage At Charlevoix was very enjoyable!

    Passing boats didn't make wakes, the beautiful residential properties, boat houses, adjacent marina and docks added to a wonderful stay.

    Whether there's no dockage available, as in our case, or you prefer anchoring, Round Pond in Charlevoix is a place to go.

    We slept well and the holding was good. Be prepared to anchor in 40' of water.

    I couldn't find info regarding a dinghy dock so shore access was unknown for our stay.

    All said, we look forward to anchoring at Round Pond in the future.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for George Kemp Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The George Kemp Downtown Marina is an excellent place to stop when entering or leaving Lake Superior.

    The marina is well run, very clean, has very nice docks, and is a great place to watch large ships lock through on to or from Lake Superior.

    Saulte Ste. Marie has many tourist attractions to enjoy during your stay.

    I've stayed here many times over the years and always been very satisfied and have appreciated the friendly staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bayshore Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    If you want to see one of Lake Superior's gems, Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, you'll want to stay in Munising.

    The marina is a city run facility in good condition and has very clean docks, power pedestals and bathrooms, though the bathrooms are older.

    Munising has several decent places to dine, two hardware and grocery stores and other shopping.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cinder Pond Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 10, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Cinder Pond Marina located on the beautiful downtown waterfront in Marquette, is our favorite marina in Michigan on Lake Superior! The facilities are first class, very clean and secure. The marina staff has an awesome manager and staff. Many nearby good restaurants, excellent biking and walking trails,clean well kept parks and the city make Cinder Pond Marina a must stop. The only reason I rated this 4 versus 5 is there are no mechanical services on site. For us that has never been a reason to not stop. We look forward to our next multi days stay!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Siskiwit Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on Aug 2, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Siskiwit Bay Marina and the town of Cornucopia, WI offers long sandy beach walks, great beaches for swimming, a small town with quaint little shops and restaurants, and the marina is the friendliest on Lake Superior! If you like a small quiet marina with outstanding sunsets and feeling most welcome, Siskiwit Bay Marina is for you.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for C-Quarters Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on May 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    I loved my stay at C-Quarters Marina! There's very friendly helpful staff, very competitive priced diesel, a great large covered deck to sit under on many rocking chairs, my kind of place simple & clean close to dining and a grocery store. I'll be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Gulfport Municipal Marina-MS

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on May 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    A good marina with good staff. The fuel dock is easily accessible for any type vessel as you enter the marina. The bathrooms and shower are very clean and secure. The docks are in excellent condition. I felt safe at dark and there are good walking and biking pathways accessible from the marina. I will definitely stay at Gulfport Marina the next time I'm in the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for HarborWalk Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Hansen , Soulmate , on May 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 1

    If you want to be in the hubbub of Destin FL, be located next to a large Margaritaville restaurant and pay $168 for a 45' vessel, have no access to showers before 9AM and after 6PM; this is for you. There's a lot of entertaining boat traffic at sunset, many dining places close, lots of people, and in our case we woke up with French fries on the front of our boat.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer