Reviews: Boot Key Harbor City Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Lawrence Wolfenden on Apr 21, 2023
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    If you can get in here—there is a waiting list "in-season"—the moorings are well-maintained and solid. The fee also grants access to the dinghy dock, showers, laundry machines, and day room with WiFi. For additional fees they have a workshop area and storage rooms.

    There is a community park nearby (exercise equipment, ball fields, even pickle ball if you must) and a business (3rd Generation Plumbing) that will refill your propane tanks. A Home Depot is about 3/4 mile up Keys, and a Publix and Walgreen's another 3/4 mile beyond that.

    Overseas Bar and Grill (with adjoining package store) is just on the other side of US 1 from the mooring field.

    Holding tank pump outs are included in the mooring ball fees. They also sell potable water.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Richard Davis on Jan 11, 2023
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Don't expect to get on a morning ball if you are over 45 feet. There are some that take up to 60 foot boats, but in the two years we have been cruising around this area there has never been one open.
    Anchorage in the harbor in the designated anchorage areas is free, but normally crowded, with many boats that don't seem to have anyone on them. We were lucky enough to find a spot that was good for all except a south wind which put our stern about 8 foot into the channel. Fortunately there is hardly ever a south wind.
    the monthly dingy dock fee is a little over $240 currently. That gives you a parking space, access to the bathrooms and showers, and one weekly pump out by the pump out boats. You want to keep your scope as short as possible, but please back down and set your anchor good. We saw two sailboats drag into other boats in a week with less than 20 knot winds. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would have given them 5 stars if they would keep the derelict boats out of the anchorage.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Kay Andrews , Beach Cat, on Nov 30, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    I was aware that they did not take bookings but as it was Thanksgiving weekend I called to see if it was busy and there was a chance we could get into the marina itself. I was told that they didn't think it would be a problem and they had plenty of space. Fast forward one day and we had a altercation with a concrete pylon under the bridge, near the marina, which caused damage along the waterline. I called by phone and radio but no answer. We proceeded to the marina anyway just to tie up and assess the damage. As we were approaching the only available space on the dock we were greeted a woman screaming No! No! You can't go there!. I shouted explaining we had sustained damage, we were taking on water and just needed 5 mins to assess the situation. She was very rude and unhelpful just kept telling us we couldn't tie up and that the office was closed ( it was 3pm!) We had no choice but to turn around and fortunately Safe Harbor Marina got us in. We felt that they could have told us the previous day that they would be closed early and we would have made other arrangements. Not helpful in a very stressful situation!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Lawrence Wolfenden on Nov 24, 2022
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Stayed here a couple days as we transited from Coconut Grove (Miami) around the Keys to Marco Island. Nearby to Home Depot and other stores. West Marine not too far away. Bathrooms/showers are clean and well-kept. High-season hadn't started yet, so no problem picking up a ball. The staff was very helpful and friendly: we were planning on a short overnight stay and then casting off first thing in the morning, and they made arrangements for us to get a pump-out outside of regular hours. Very much appreciated.

    Take note when headed to the dinghy dock: there is a large, shallow grass flat that you are supposed to go around. There's a main channel to the south, and a smaller cut on the north side. One of the locals cautioned me after I cut right through the middle of it: "You must be new here. It happens a lot." He didn't say it, but I got the impression that I had better not let it happen again.

    There was a great common area with tables for working or watching t.v..

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Daryl Rester , SV Lagniappe, on Aug 8, 2022
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.8'

    Rating: 5

    Living aboard in City Marina here is best described as a Sticky Bottom. Lots of travelers stop on their way to other locales and never leave. We really enjoy the laid-back community lifestyle.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: James Bradford , Crewless, on Feb 2, 2022
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 25'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Rating: 4

    BEWARE of "sea grass restoration area"! Extreme shallow area to immediate west of docks! POORLY MARKED! Other boaters very nice about dragging you off but very embarrassing. You have been warned!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Shay Torbene on Aug 4, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    Unfriendly front desk staff. Other staff was at least courteous. If she is the manager, im sorry for anyone staying there.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Chris Himmelheber on Dec 28, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    I stopped here for what I thought would be one week. The daily rates for mooring are $22 and weekly it’s $115 - and they have MANY mooring balls. Well protected with cheap water, mobile pump out weekly, free WiFi, lots of dinghy dock space, loaner bikes, about 12 private showers, and laundry with about 10 washers & driers.

    Staff is very helpful, and there is a bus that goes to Key West about every 2 hrs (05:30 to 23:45) 7 days a week for $1 - don’t buy the weekly pass, it’s $15 for unlimited, but with a 4 hr round trip, you won’t use it that much!

    Only reason I didn’t give 5 stars is that after the office/club house closes at 17:45, TVs are not available. WiFi is, but you have to sit outside, and the skeeters eat you up. Also, it’s a pretty good hike from the grocery store carrying bags.

    It’s about 1 mile or less to most everything, but Uber is really expensive, so you’re either biking or walking.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Marilu on Dec 12, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.6'

    Rating: 5

    Extremely helpful honest staff. They do their best to give you the best rate. After two years since last visit, I had a $3.00 credit on my laundry card. They gave me that credit 2 years later even after after Hurricane Irma ravaged the marina. My records that they showed me were wrinkled and brown from water damage. Most definitely we will be back. Great place, a home away from home. Oh, catch a bus to Key West for the rediculously low price of a buck.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer on Apr 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    I would rate the mooring field the best I've ever seen. They will even pump out your boat if you happen to be away when they do your area. The hurricane did damage for sure but the moorings are fine and they moved the dinghy dock to the alleyway by the dockhouse. The clubhouse looks as good as new and everything is functional. If you chose to anchor out instead of taking a mooring, you will be charged the same rate if you want to use their dinghy dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Lyle , Bacchus, on Feb 20, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Agree with the other users that the marina is nice and the staff super helpful. I would add the mooring field is huge, well protected and comfortable in a blow.

    There are many wonderful restaurants, lots of the good ones are not on US1 but rather on side streets. If you visit please get off the "beaten path" and enjoy the places the locals go.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Eric on Sep 2, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Great place, great neighbor hood, wonderful and very friendly staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Carrie Sharp on Apr 29, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    Very cruiser friendly and employees are super and very accommodating. Very comfortable in the mooring field. Morning cruisers net very helpful. Would return.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Carrie Sharp on Apr 29, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    Nice mooring field. Employees are super, and quick to accommodate. Morning cruisers net very helpful. We would return if we pass back that way.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Boot Key Harbor City Marina

    Reviewed by: Rebecca Kyes , Tumbleweed, on Apr 17, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 30'
    Draft: 4.8'

    Rating: 5

    Full-time cruiser friendly. Safe, calm, but crowded harbor. Listen in on daily happenings and cruiser news on VHF channel 68 at 9am. If your guidebook says you can dinghy to Publix--disregard that. It's a mile walk, bike or taxi ride from the marina. Winn-Dixie is a block farther, as is K-mart. From the marina, go to the main road and turn right.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer